

NEW HAMPSHIRE'S COUNTIES

The Original Five

Rockingham County (created in 1769)

This county was named after the Marquis of Rockingham, a British politician who considered himself a friend of America.

Seacoast Region

Hillsborough County (created in 1769)

The Earl of Hillsborough was a British politician who oversaw the governance of the American colonies.

Merrimack Valley

Grafton County (created in 1769)

Another British politician, the Duke of Grafton was the leader of the British government when NH's counties were created. He gave his permission for New Hampshire to be divided into counties.

White Mountains

Strafford County (created in 1769)

This county was named after William Wentworth, the Earl of Strafford. New Hampshire officials

Seacoast Region

believed William Wentworth was related to New Hampshire Governor John Wentworth, but the two men were only very distantly related. So the name was a bit of a mistake!

Cheshire County (created in 1769)

This county was named after a county in England known for dairy products, especially cheese.

Monadnock Region